The 7th MCAE wishes to congratulate


Dr. Romain Baeriswyl, Winner of the 2023 Ludwig-von-Mises-Prize in Austrian Economics for his paper titled “Central Bank Digital Currency and Gresham’s Law: An Experimental Analysis“,


Mr. Ludwig Van Den Hauwe, Winner of the 2023 Friedrich-von-Hayek-Prize in Austrian Economics for his paper titled “Why Machines Will Not Replace Entrepreneurs. On the Inevitable Limitations of Artificial Intelligence in Economic Life, and


Mr. Yago Mateos Vela, Winner of the 2023 Murray-Rothbard-Prize in Austrian Economics for his paper titled An ethical and economic critique of insider trading regulation.




The 7th MCAE wishes to express its gratitude to Prof. Dr. Jesús Huerta de Soto for the generous sponsoring of the abovementioned prizes.


Prof. Dr. Leef H. Dierks

(on behalf of the Scientific Committee)

2024 Call for paper

7th Annual Madrid Conference on Austrian Economics

The Faculty of Political Economy in cooperation with the Master Programme in Economics of the Austrian School of Universidad Rey Juan Carlos in Madrid and Lübeck University of Applied Sciences will hold their seventh annual conference on Austrian Economics. The aim of the conference is to bring together scholars doing research in this intellectual tradition.

The scientific committee invites the submission of theoretical or empirical papers related to Austrian Economics on subject areas such as value and utility, market behavior, money and banking, financial economics, business cycles or economic history. Although the submission of full papers is preferred, extended abstracts will also be considered.

Interested authors are welcome to submit their paper or abstract to:

Deadline for submission: July 31st, 2023

Notification on acceptance: August 31st, 2023

Deadline for registration: September 30th, 2023

Conference dates: October 26th and 27th, 2023

Conference Fees and Expenses

Participants are expected to cover their own travel and accommodation expenses. The registration fee of €180 covers the conference dinner on Thursday evening, lunch on Friday as well as catering during coffee breaks.

Best Papers Award and Publication

The three best papers will be awarded with the Mises-Prize (€500), the Hayek-Price (€ 300) and the Rothbard-Price (€ 200).

Selected papers may be published – if desired by the author – in Procesos de Mercado: Revista Europea de Economía Política.

The paper’s length can vary between ten and 25 pages, but should show sufficient density of thought. Papers that bring no real innovation of perspective are unlikely to be considered for the prize. Notation style is APA, and the number of sources referenced should be proportional to the length of the text. Spelling errors will lead to an immediate disqualification of the review process. 

Submissions are due before July 31st, 2023. Notification of acceptance for the conference will be no later than August 31st, 2023. The Mises-Prize, the Hayek-Prize and the Rothbard-Prize will be awarded during the conference on Friday, October 27th, 2023. 

The winning papers will be considered for publication in Procesos de Mercado - European Journal of Political Economy, the leading journal on Austrian Economics. 

The conference’s organizing committee wishes to express their gratitude to Prof. Dr. Jesús Huerta de Soto for his generous sponsoring of the aforementioned prizes for the development of Austrian Economics.

Scientific Committee

Prof. Dr. Miguel Ángel Alonso – Universidad Rey Juan Carlos

Dr. Romain Baeriswyl – Swiss National Bank

Prof. Dr. Philipp Bagus – Universidad Rey Juan Carlos

Prof. Dr. Leef H. Dierks – Lübeck University of Applied Sciences

Prof. Dr. David Howden – Saint Louis University Madrid

Prof. Dr. Jesús Huerta de Soto – Universidad Rey Juan Carlos

Prof. Dr. Antonio Martínez – Universidad Rey Juan Carlos

Conference Days

Thursday, October 26th, 2023





Friday, October 27th, 2022